COVID-19: Supporting CarersOur Message Of Support

Dear Carer,

I hope you are keeping as well as possible during this time. We know that many Carers are very concerned about their loved ones regarding Coronavirus.

Credu are still supporting Young and Adult Carers with what is important to them, though in different ways. Find below links to the contact details for support in your area. We have the www.facebook.com/creducarers and your local outreach worker will have a webpage too.

You can contact us about anything that is important to you right now, whether that is:

  • Support or information / concerns you want to discuss
  • Wanting to give support and information to other Carers
  • Wanting to share ideas about how we can better support Carers and their families during this time. These can be very practical ideas that will help keep people safe and well, or fun ideas to help keep people going during isolation.

As well as supporting people in serious difficulty, Carers and outreach workers are coming up with all sorts of other ways of supporting each other during this time. Some of the Young Carers are sharing fun challenges on social media, other Adult Carers are considering setting up an on-line choir, or connecting with Carers in a similar situation via telephone or social media.

Communities and organisations are working so proactively at the moment; we are inspired with confidence that most people will get the support they need, though we are of course concerned.

Again, if you have any queries, concerns or want to chat through things, please don’t hesitate to call.

Warmest regards,

All at Credu

Public Health Wales Statement

“The public has a crucial role to play in containing the spread of the virus, and we are encouraging people to wash their hands more often, and for 20 seconds. Use soap and water or a hand sanitiser when you get home or into work, blow your nose, sneeze or cough, eat or handle food. This advice will help you to protect yourself and others.” We should also carry tissues to prevent the spread of the virus.

For the most up to date information and guidance go to the Public Health Wales website.

Click here: https://phw.nhs.wales/topics/latest-information-on-novel-coronavirus-covid-19/

Carers UK Guidance For Carers

Click here: https://www.carersuk.org/help-and-advice/health/looking-after-your-health/coronavirus-covid-19

Some useful links

Not sure where to go for up to date information?

https://gov.wales/coronavirus -The Welsh Government Website

https://phw.nhs.wales/topics/latest-information-on-novel-coronavirus-covid-19/Public Health Wales    They are the national public health agency in Wales. They work to protect and improve health and well-being and reduce health inequalities for the people of Wales.

Powys County Council

https://en.powys.gov.uk/coronavirus

https://en.powys.gov.uk/article/8767/Coronavirus-COVID-19-daily-update

Ceredigion County Council

hhttp://www.ceredigion.gov.uk/coronavirus

Conwy Council

www.conwy.gov.uk

Denbighshire County Council

www.denbighshire.gov.uk

Wrexham Council

www.wrexham.gov.uk

 

Other useful websites/contacts

http://www.calandvs.org.uk/contact-us – MFCC provide refuges and services to victims and survivors in the North of Powys (Newtown, Welshpool and Machynlleth

01686 629114 or emailing: admin@familycrisis.co.uk  – MFCC provide refuges and services to victims and survivors in the North of Powys (Newtown, Welshpool and Machynlleth)

https://www.ageuk.org.uk/cymru/ – AgeUK is a national charity for older people providing advice, information and support and other related services

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/
The dementia charity, campaigns for change, fund research to find a cure and supports people living with dementia today

https://youngminds.org.uk/
The charity for children and young people’s mental health.

https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/ – provides support to children and young people

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/wales/ – provides advice and information on a range of issues.  

 

Need Support?

CREDU Outreach Workers and their contact details

Powys Team Contact Details

 

Area covered Position
Main office number (will be available Monday – Friday 9.00 – 5.00 even during lockdown) 01597 823899

 

carers@credu.cymru

All of Powys (and some other areas) Young Carers and Adult Carers
Kathryn Jarvis

 

07495532490

kathryn@credu.cymru

Rhayader and llanidoes Adult Carers
Matt Rising

 

07896416585

matt@credu.cymru

Knighton Presteigne Newtown Young Carers
Tara Evans 07772211119

tara@credu.cymru

Builth, Rhayader, Llandod Young Carers
Lisa Bowen

 

07805843992

lisa@credu.cymru

Montgomery Adult Carers
Leanne Pritchard 07976553974

leanne@credu.cymru

Knighton Prestegine llandod and builth Adult Carers
Karen Birkenhead

 

07809736903

karen@credu.cymru

Brecon, Hay, Crickhowel, Talgarth, Ystradgynlais Adult Carers
Jane Fletcher

 

07813777484

jane@credu.cymru

Brecon, Hay, Crickhowel, Talgarth, Young Carers
Sian Nickells

 

07498513815

sian@credu.cymru

Ystradgynlais Adult and Young Carers
Kevin Holcroft

 

07813853982

kevin@credu.cymru

Powys Wide Raising Awareness
Becky Evans 07976970896

becky@credu.cymru

Powys Wide General enquires/

Team Manager

Jen O’Hara

 

07932224694

jen@credu.cymru

Powys Wide CEO
Marie Davies

 

marie@credu.cymru Powys Wide Creative respite
Zandra Pitt

 

 

07971637447

zandra@credu.cymru

Powys Wide Connected Generations
Ami Wilson

 

07971637833

ami@credu.cymru

Machynlleth Young Carers
Sally Duckers

 

07976835989

sally@credu.cymru

 

Montgomery Young Carers
Nick Cooke

 

07896416480

nick@credu.cymru

Powys wide Mental health and fitness project
Mandy Hughes

 

07494324743

mandyhughes@credu.cymru

Builth and llanwrtyd Community project

 

POWYS COMMUNITY SUPPORT NETWORK: COVID-19

Please click on the following link for a list of support available in local communities within Powys:

COMMUNITY SUPPORT NETWORK

 

COVID-19: Supporting Carers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.